Department of Music

Back Page

Ways of Knowing (Frühe Neuzeit Interdisziplinär)
Durham, NC, April 2001


CALL FOR PAPERS
Fruehe Neuzeit Interdisziplinaer (FNI)


The third triennial conference of Fruehe Neuzeit Interdisziplinaer will
take place on the campus of Duke University in Durham, North Carolina,
April 19-22, 2001. FNI is a conference group that supports and promotes
interdisciplinary research on the culture, politics, and society of
German-speaking Central Europe during the early modern period (roughly
1400-1750). The organization brings together scholars from all areas of
the arts and sciences in an effort to promote innovative scholarship and
imaginative teaching about German society and culture in this era, as well
as to overcome boundaries between the various disciplines and
methodologies in an effort to broaden our understanding of the early
modern world.

The general theme of the 2001 conference will be "Ways of Knowing": In
many disciplines, scholars wonder whether historical reality is easily
grasped beyond a document, a literary text or an image. As a result many
scholars no longer take sources, images and texts at face value, but look
to understand the cultural values that helped shape their creation. The
conference invites explorations of how people in the past perceived,
understood, and created their own worlds and how modern scholars in turn
create knowledge about these early modern worlds. The conference will
include sessions and workshops from history, music, art history, religion,
literature, and the history of science, medicine, and technology.

Anyone interested in participating should contact session organizers as
soon as possible:

Art History:

Larry Silver
Department of the History of Art
Jaffe Building, 3405 Woodland Walk
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia PA 19104-6208, USA
lasilver@sas.penn.edu

Alison Stewart
Department of Art and Art History
Nell Cochrane Woods Hall
University of Nebraska
Lincoln NE 68588-0114, USA
astewart@unl.edu

History:

David M. Luebke
Department of History
1288 University of Oregon
Eugene OR 97403-1288, USA
dluebke@darkwing.uoregon.edu

Suzanne Pohl
Department of History
450 McGraw Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca NY 14853-4601, USA
sp108@cornell.edu

Literature:

Mara Wade
Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures
3072 Foreign Languages Building
University of Illinois
Urbana IL 61801, USA
m-wade@staff.uiuc.edu

Musicology:

Susan Jackson
3603 Tyrone Drive
Austin TX 78759, USA
s.jackson@utexas.edu

John Kmetz
127 Pacific Street
Cobble Hill
Brooklyn NY 11201, USA
john.kmetz@us.arthuranderson.com

Religion:

Phillip M. Soergel
Department of History
Arizona State University
P.O. Box 872501
Tempe AZ 85287-2501, USA
soergel@asu.edu

Science, Medicine, and Technology:

Alix Cooper
Department of History
1500 N. Warner
University of Puget Sound
Tacoma WA 98416-0040, USA
macooper@ups.edu