Department of Music

Music Department Home

New England Conference of Music Theorists, Twentieth Annual Meeting
Amherst, MA, April 2005

New England Conference of Music Theorists


Twentieth Annual Meeting
April 1-2, 2005
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, Massachusetts

Program Committee:
David Kopp (Boston University), Chair
Stefan Kostka (University of Texas, emeritus)
Akane Mori (The Hartt School of Music)
Richard Bass (University of Connecticut), ex officio

Proposal deadline: November 1, 2004 (postmark)

Sessions provide 30 minutes for presentation and 10 minutes for discussion of each
paper.  All who wish to propose papers should send four copies of a three- to
five-page proposal and one copy of an abstract suitable for publication, by November
1, 2004, to the following address:

Margaret Thomas, NECMT Secretary
Music Department, Box 5612
Connecticut College
270 Mohegan Ave.
New London, CT  06320-4196

Proposals on any music-theoretical or analytical topic are welcome.  Proposals are
read blind; they should contain no identification of the author.  With your proposal
and abstract copies, please include a cover letter giving your name, address, phone,
email, affiliation, the title of your proposal, and any special equipment or
arrangements required.  You may be asked to submit a copy of your abstract
electronically or on floppy disk.  For more information, contact Margaret Thomas at:


September 2004

Dear Colleagues:

I hope your summer was an enjoyable one, although for most of us I know it seemed too
short.  I am pleased to tell you that the twentieth annual meeting of the New England
Conference of Music Theorists will be held at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst
on Friday and Saturday, April 1-2, 2005.  Local arrangements will be handled by Gary
Karpinski.  The program for this meeting includes a celebration of our twentieth
anniversary.  Included in the festivities will be a special address by James Baker
(Brown University), who was one of the principal driving forces behind the founding
of NECMT, as well as its first president.

We will have a variety of other sessions as well, based on proposals submitted in
response to the Call for Papers that is enclosed in this mailing.  Submissions will
be reviewed by members of the Program Committee, which includes David Kopp, chair
(Boston University), Stefan Kostka (University of Texas, emeritus), and Akane Mori
(Hartt School of Music).  Please consider sending in a proposal, and note that the
deadline for submissions is November 1, 2004.  This information is also available on
the NECMT website at

The terms of office for NECMT President and Treasurer will expire in 2005.  The
Executive Board has appointed a nominating committee that will present names of
candidates for these offices to begin new two-year terms for 2005-07.  The members of
this committee are Peter Kaminsky, chair (University of Connecticut), Roger Graybill
(New England Conservatory); and Sigrun Heinzelman (University of Massachusetts,
Amherst).  Nominations (including self-nominations) are welcome, and should be sent
via email to

I hope you will make a special effort to renew your membership in NECMT early this
season, which will ensure that you receive all the mailings and email announcements
regarding the upcoming meeting, and qualify you to vote in the election of new
officers.  Please encourage your graduate students, and your colleagues at your own
or other institutions, to consider becoming members as well. Membership dues can be
paid for either one or two years, as indicated on the enclosed membership form.

I look forward to visiting with you in Amherst in April.  In the meantime, I wish you
perspicacious students, benevolent administrators, and ample funding for all your
scholarly pursuits.


Richard Bass, NECMT President


The New England Conference of Music Theorists is an organization serving the music
theory community in New England and the surrounding areas.  Your academic-year
membership fee - professional $20 for one year, $40 for two years OR student/emeritus
$10 for one year, $20 for two years - places you on our mailing list, allows you to
vote in the election of officers, and admits you to our annual meeting.  To join the
conference or to renew your membership, please see our website at or via the SMT Regional Societies webpage; or email the
secretary at

Back to Index of Conferences
Back to Index of Past Conferences, 2005