Students at Royal Holloway,
University of London Royal Holloway,
University of London
Conferences index | Past conferences, 2007 | Golden Pages index | Music Department Home Page

Texas Society for Music Theory, Twenty-Ninth Annual Conference

University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, TX, February 23 - 24, 2007

The Texas Society for Music Theory invites participation in the 2007
meeting to be held at The University of Texas at Arlington.  The full text
of the call for participation is included below. This and additional
conference information (as it becomes available) will also be accessible
via the TSMT web site:   .

Keynote speaker - Poundie Burstein

The Texas Society for Music Theory will hold its 29th annual meeting this
spring at the University of Texas at Arlington. David Castro will
coordinate local arrangements. Our keynote address will be given by
Poundie Burstein, who is a faculty member at Hunter College and the
Graduate Center at CUNY.  Professor Burstein is the author of numerous
articles and reviews on Schenkerian theory, humorology, gender studies,
and music technology. He also performs regularly as a pianist for comedy
improvisation groups in the New York City area and is the current
president of the Music Theory Society of New York State.

The Society invites the submission of proposals for scholarly papers and
panel discussions on any aspect of music theory, and music of any style,
period, or region. Topics may include, but are not limited to: analysis,
cognition, methodology, history of theory, pedagogy, theory and
performance, and interdisciplinary research. Special sessions may also be
proposed.  Presentations within special sessions may be in the form of
demonstrations, panel discussions, lecture-recitals, or traditional

Please submit FIVE COPIES of a detailed proposal of 3 to 5 double-spaced
typed pages. A program committee will review the proposals. As individual
proposals will be reviewed anonymously, do not include your name on these
proposals.  Panel discussion proposals, however, must include the names of
all participants.

Your submission must be accompanied by a separate cover letter including
title of the presentation, your name(s), telephone number, e-mail address,
technological or equipment requirements, and an indication, if applicable,
of student status. In addition you must include, on a separate sheet, a
one-page abstract for inclusion in the conference program. Only complete
submissions will be considered.

These materials must be mailed (POSTMARK DEADLINE) by December 1, 2006.
Please send them to:

Edward Pearsall, President
Texas Society for Music Theory
School of Music
The University of Texas at Austin
1 University Station, E3100
Austin, Texas 78712-0435, USA

Questions may be directed to Ed Pearsall at

Each submitter will be notified of the selection committee's decision by
mid-January. Student presenters wishing to be considered for the TSMT
Colvin Award must send two copies of the complete paper to the above
address postmarked on, or before, February 1, 2007. To be considered,
please indicate student status in the cover letter. The program will be
announced in mid-January along with full registration and travel
information. Abstracts of those papers chosen for presentation will be
published on the TSMT website.

TSMT Executive Board

Ed Pearsall (University of Texas, Austin), President
Timothy McKinney (Baylor University), Immediate Past-President
Philip Baczewski (University of North Texas), Secretary
Jana Millar (Baylor University), Treasurer
Andrew Anderson (Collin County Community College)
Frank Heidlberger (University of North Texas)
Graham Hunt (University of Texas at Arlington)
Barbara Wallace (Dallas Baptist University)

Program Committee

Eric Drott (University of Texas at Austin)
Jacquelyn Hale (Southern Methodist University))
JoŠn Groom (University of North Texas)
Graham Hunt (University of Texas at Arlington)
Back to top of page
Last updated Tue, 28-Mar-2006 13:33 GMT / GAC
Royal Holloway, University of London, Egham, Surrey TW20 0EX
Tel/Fax : +44 (0)1784 434455/437520