Students at Royal Holloway,
University of London Royal Holloway,
University of London

Music Theory Society of New York State (MTSNYS), Thirty-Fifth Annual Meeting

New York City, April 2007

The 35th Annual Meeting of the Music Theory Society of New York State
(MTSNYS) will take place at Fordham University, New York, NY, USA, on
14-15 April 2007.

The Program Committee for the 2007 meeting of MTSNYS invites proposals for
papers and presentations on any topic related to music theory.  Areas of
special interest include those that touch on the theme of "Technology and
Music Theory." To this end, the Program Committee particularly encourages
proposals that address how technology influences the teaching, research,
and publishing of music theory, including:

- theory web and internet distribution
- music databases and representations
- pedagogy using the web, speciality software, iPods, etc.
- computer modeling of musical systems
- popular music and technology

Innovative topics and presentation methods are welcome. Papers given at
national conferences or previously published will not be considered.  
Proposals could either be for 30- or 45-minute presentations, or for
inclusion in a poster session.

Paper submission should include:
- Six copies of a proposal of at least two but no more than five
  double-spaced pages of text.  Each copy should include the title of the
  paper and its duration as read aloud, but not the author's name, because
  proposals are read blind.
- An abstract of 200-250 words, suitable for publication.
- A cover letter listing the title of the paper; the name, address,
  institutional affiliation, telephone number, and e-mail address of the
  author; and all audio and visual needs.

We will consider proposals for panels and other non-conventional
presentation formats. The submission requirements for panel and
non-conventional formats are the same as above, except that the proposals
need not be anonymous.

Proposals should be sent to:

Dave Headlam, Program Chair (
Eastman School of Music
26 Gibbs Street
Rochester, NY 14604


MTSNYS web site:

Members of the 2007 Program Committee are Dave Headlam, chair; Poundie Burstein (ex officio), Panayotis Mavromatis (New York University), Chandler Carter (Hofstra University), Marlon Feld (New York City), and Leigh Van Handel (Michigan State University).
Back to top of page
Back to index of conferences
Back to index of past conferences, 2006
Golden Pages index
Music Department Home Page
Last updated Tue, 28-Mar-2006 13:33 GMT / AU
Royal Holloway, University of London, Egham, Surrey TW20 0EX
Tel/Fax : +44 (0)1784 434455/437520