Students at Royal Holloway,
University of London Royal Holloway,
University of London
Conferences index | Past conferences, 2007 | Golden Pages index | Music Department Home Page

Music Theory Midwest, Eighteenth Annual Conference

University of Kansas (Lawrence, Kansas), Friday and Saturday, 13-14 April 2007

Call for Proposals

* Proposal Deadline: Tuesday, 16 January 2007 *

NOTE: A PDF of this flyer is available at

Music Theory Midwest will hold its eighteenth annual conference on Friday and
Saturday, 13-14 April 2007, at the University of Kansas (Lawrence, Kansas). The
keynote speaker will be Severine Neff (Eugene Falk Distinguished Professor,
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill). The conference will also coincide with
a concert by the University of Kansas's Wind Ensemble, which will include
performances of John Corigliano's new symphony, Circus Maximus; Randall Thompson's
Testament of Freedom, based on the writings of Thomas Jefferson; and Stravinsky's

The program committee invites proposals for individual presentations on any area of
music theory. Music Theory Midwest has a tradition of encouraging papers on
composers, musicians, or compositions celebrating significant anniversaries. Among
those with birth or death anniversaries in 2007 are: Dieterich Buxtehude (d. 1707),
Domenico Scarlatti (d. 1757), Johann Stamitz (d. 1757), Carl Czerny (d. 1857), Joseph
Eichendorff (poet; d. 1857), Edward Elgar (b. 1857), Mikhail Glinka (d. 1857), Cab
Calloway (b. 1907), Benny Carter (b. 1907), Edvard Grieg (d. 1907), Ludwig Thuille
(theorist; d. 1907), Alec Wilder (b. 1907), and Erich Wolfgang Korngold (d. 1957).
The committee also encourages proposals for special sessions devoted to a single
work, illustrating a variety of analytical and interpretive viewpoints.

Please read the following instructions carefully. Submissions not conforming to these
requirements will not be considered.


Papers should be planned for presentation in twenty minutes, followed by ten minutes
for questions. A proposal for an individual presentation consists of two parts:   

--   A cover letter, which should list the author's name and email address, the paper
title, and any special equipment required for the presentation. If the submitter
wishes to be considered for the Komar Award (see below), this should also be
indicated in the cover letter.    

--   An abstract, which should not exceed 500 words and must be anonymous.
Supplementary materials (such as musical examples and diagrams) may be included and
will not count toward the word limit; but they should not exceed two additional
pages. Proposals may be submitted either on paper or electronically, according to the
following guidelines.

Paper submission. Send one cover letter and seven copies of the abstract, postmarked
no later than 16 January 2007, to:

David Carson Berry
Program Chair, MTMW 2007
University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music
PO Box 210003
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0003

Electronic submission. Electronic submissions must be PDFs-no other file formats will
be accepted. Examples/diagrams may be included in the same PDF file with the
abstract, or sent as separate PDF files. If multiple files are submitted, all should
be submitted at the same time. Authors are responsible for producing files that will
display and print clearly, and for ensuring that the files contain no indication of
authorship (including in file names). To submit electronically, go to no later than 16 January 2007.
(The cover letter information is to be entered directly into a form that you will
complete online.)

Proposals for special sessions are encouraged. These are exempt from the word limit
and should not be anonymous; the names of the organizer and all participants should
be included in the proposal. Special sessions should be unified in a way that is not
normally characteristic of sessions assembled by the program committee from
individually submitted papers. Anyone wishing to propose a special session should
contact the program chair via e-mail, well in advance of the proposal deadline; his
address is:

Those submitting proposals should receive notice of the program committee's decision
by late February, when the preliminary program for the conference will be assembled.
Those whose proposals are accepted will then be asked to submit a 250-word abstract
suitable for publication in the program booklet. In some cases, the program committee
may request that a presentation be given in a format other than the usual
twenty-minute paper.

Music Theory Midwest expects that those who submit proposals will be able to attend
the conference. If at any time after submitting a proposal you learn that you will be
unable to be present on 13-14 April, please contact the program chair immediately to
withdraw your proposal from consideration. Please do not wait until the committee's
decisions are announced; doing so could cause complications affecting the entire
conference program.

The Arthur J. Komar Award for the best student paper will be presented at the end of
the conference. Student presenters who wish to be considered for the Komar Award
should indicate this in their cover letters. For the purposes of this award,
"student" status terminates with the receipt of a terminal degree or employment in a
full-time position. Additional information about the Komar Award may be found on the
MTMW website.

David Carson Berry (Univ. of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music),
Matthew Bribitzer-Stull (Univ. of Minnesota)
Rene Rusch Daley (Univ. of Michigan)
Nora A. Engebretsen (Bowling Green State Univ.)
Roman Ivanovitch (Indiana Univ.)
Scott Murphy (Univ. of Kansas)
Claire Boge (Miami Univ. [Ohio]), ex officio (as MTMW President)

Deron McGee (Univ. of Kansas), Chair;

Back to top of page
Last updated Tue, 28-Mar-2006 13:33 GMT / GAC
Royal Holloway, University of London, Egham, Surrey TW20 0EX
Tel/Fax : +44 (0)1784 434455/437520