A silhouette (in white) of Founder's Tower, on a background illustrating a musical theme. Royal Holloway, University of London

Music Theory Society of New York State (MTSNYS) 36th Annual Meeting
Ithaca College Ithaca, New York 5 –6 April 2008


The Program Committee for the 2008 meeting of the Music Theory Society of New York State (MTSNYS) invites proposals for papers and presentations on any topic related to music theory and analysis. In honor of Edward Aldwell, the world-renowned pianist and pedagogue who passed away last year, the committee would particularly look forward to proposals that relate to areas that were among his special interests, including:

--music theory pedagogy
--analysis and performance
--Schenkerian analysis
--the analysis and theory of fugue

Any number of proposals may be submitted by an individuals, but no more than one will be accepted. Papers given at national conferences or previously published will not be considered. Proposals could either be for 30-minute presentations, with 15 minutes for possible response or discussion. Paper submission should include:

--Six copies of a proposal of at least two but no more than five double-spaced pages of text. Each copy should include the title of the paper and its duration as read aloud, but not the author's name, because proposals are read blind.
--An abstract of 200–250 words, suitable for publication.
--A cover letter listing the title of the paper; the name, address, institutional affiliation, telephone number, and e-mail address of the author; and all audio and visual needs.

We will consider proposals for panels as well as non-conventional presentation formats. The submission requirements for panel and non-conventional formats are the same as above, except that the proposals need not be anonymous.

Proposals should be sent to:

Mark Anson-Cartwright, Program Chair (mansonca@qc1.qc.edu)
Aaron Copland School of Music
Queens College
65-30 Kissena Boulevard
Flushing, NY 11367-1597


Members of the 2008 Program Committee are Mark Anson-Cartwright, chair; Norman Carey (ex officio, CUNY), Dave Headlam (Eastman School of Music), Joel Lester (Mannes College of Music), Eve Poudrier (CUNY), and Deborah Rifkin (Ithaca College)
MTSNYS web site: http://www.ithaca.edu/music/mtsnys/index.html

Last updated
Tel/Fax : +44 (0)1784 443532/439441