Department of Music

Back Page

Society for Music Theory, 22nd Annual Meeting
Atlanta, November 1999

Society for Music Theory 1999 Call for Papers
The 22nd Annual Meeting of the Society for Music Theory will he held in Atlanta, Georgia, from Wednesday, November 10 through Sunday, November 13, 1999. Proposals for papers, poster sessions, and special sessions following the guidelines below are invited. PAPERS Submissions for papers must include: 1. A proposal of three to five double-spaced pages of text, using a standard font. While there is no single correct format, the Program Committee will look favorably on proposals that include a clear statement of the paper's original contribution to scholarship in relation to prior research (including a bibliography if appropriate), a summary of the paper's methodology, and specific evidence of results, including musical examples illustrating analytical findings where appropriate. While they should be as concise as possible, bibliographies, musical examples, and other supplementary materials need not be counted within the page limit. Seven copies of the proposal must be submitted. Each copy should include the title of the paper but not the author's name. [For advice concerning the writing of proposals, contributors may consult the RILM home page (] 2. Two copies of an abstract of approximately 200 words, suitable for publication. The Program Committee reserves the right to edit abstracts. 3. A cover letter listing the title of the paper and the name, address, telephone number, and e-mail address of the author. Since cover letters will not be seen by the Committee until consideration of proposals has been completed, do not confine to the cover letter any information essential to the Committee's deliberations. Papers previously published or given at other national/international conferences will not be considered. Most papers will be placed in 45-minute time slots, with about 30 minutes for reading and 15 minutes for response or discussion. The Committee may request that favorably received submissions for papers be presented as poster sessions. POSTER SESSIONS Proposals for poster sessions should follow the guidelines for the submission of papers, except that examples of the graphic materials to he posted must be included. SPECIAL SESSIONS Proposals for special sessions and events of unusual format (such as analysis symposia) are welcomed. Proposals should follow the guidelines for paper proposals except that: * they need not be submitted anonymously * they should be as specific as possible with respect to space and time required, participants, format, and equipment needed. Proposals that require special equipment must itemize those requirements and will be accepted contingent on the cost being reasonable. Special sessions must be "special" in the sense that they could not be put together by the Program Committee. A group of individual papers or presentations revolving around a given topic does not necessarily constitute a special session. Such papers should instead be submitted separately and anonymously with a recommendation that, if accepted, they be placed together in an individual session. Anyone wishing to propose a special session is advised to contact the Chair well in advance of the submission deadline. Anyone who is not a current member of the SMT Program Committee may propose a paper, poster session, or special session. Any number of proposals may be submitted by an individual, but no more than one will be accepted. An individual may read a paper and participate in a special session. The Committee welcomes proposals in any area of music theory. Send proposals to: Richard Cohn, Dept. of Music, University of Chicago, 1010 E. 59th St., Chicago, IL, 60637. A self-addressed, stamped postcard may be included for notification of receipt.
Program Committee: Brian Alegant (Oberlin College), Richard Cohn (University of Chicago), co-chairs; Lori Burns (University of Ottawa), David Cohen (Harvard University), David Huron (Ohio State University), Jay Rahn (York University), Janet Schmalfeldt (Tufts University) (ex officio).