2009 Biennial Euro-Mediterranean Music Conference


Call for Papers

2009 Biennial Euro-Mediterranean Music Conference

18-20 September 2009

University of Nicosia, Cyprus

The Cyprus Music Institute is pleased to announce this Call for Papers for its inaugural 2009 Biennial Euro-Mediterranean music conference. While many Mediterranean countries have active and well-established traditions of music scholarship, as yet there has been no attempt to bring scholars from across the Mediterranean region together under the auspices of a single conference. By providing a venue for intellectual exchange between academicians across the region, as well as scholars from any area whose research relates to Mediterranean musical traditions, the conference is intended to establish a forum that will engender a sense of shared academic community, facilitate the creation of personal and institutional networks, and generally promote intercultural exchange and peaceful dialogue.

Since the purpose of the conference is to bring together the whole range of music scholars from Mediterranean countries, as well as any scholars with an interest in the region’s musical traditions, it will not limit topics to any particular theme. However, all proposals should fall under at least one of the following thematic categories:

Musicology, broadly understood to encompass historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory and analysis, sociology of music, and musical aesthetics.

Music Education, broadly understood to encompass research in applied classroom teaching, instrumental and vocal pedagogy, and the philosophy and sociology of music education.

Mediterranean Music, understood to encompass any category of research relating to any Mediterranean music culture, past or present. Proposals addressing intercultural and region themes will be regarded especially favorably.

The language of the conference will be English.

Invited Speakers:

Jim Samson, Royal Holloway, University of London

Göran Folkestad, Malmö Academy of Music, Lund University

Panos Vlangopoulos, Ionian University


Proposals of no more than 400 words should be sent as Microsoft Word attachments to Kenneth Smith, chair of the organizing committee: smith.k@unic.ac.cy

Presentations may take any of the following formats:

20-minute papers

Sessions of 3 thematically related 20-minute papers

90-minute workshops

All proposals should include the name, affiliation, and contact information of the presenter(s). All personal information will be suppressed in the version distributed to the scientific committee.

Deadline: 10 April 2009. Applicants will receive a response no later than 30 May.

Scientific Committee

Jim Samson, Royal Holloway, University of London

Göran Folkestad, Malmö Academy of Music, Lund University

Smaro Chrysostomou, University of Athens

Vasilis Kallis, University of Nicosia

Natassa Economidou-Stavrou, European University of Cyprus

Conference Fee: €50 full fee; €20 for students. Meals will be charged separately, although one dinner will be offered to all conference participants by the Cyprus Tourism Organization for the evening of 19 September.