Seventeenth Biennial International Conference On Nineteenth-Century Music

Call for Papers

Edinburgh University, 27-30 June 2012

The Seventeenth Biennial International Conference on Nineteenth-Century
Music will take place at The University of Edinburgh from Wednesday 27 June
to Saturday 30 June 2012. The programme committee welcomes proposals on any
aspect of music during the long 19th century. In addition, the committee
invites proposals that engage with any of the following themes:

. Research on composers with major anniversaries in the period surrounding
the conference, including Coleridge-Taylor, Liszt, Mahler,  Verdi, and
. Black concert composers in the 19th century;
. Staging 19th-century opera in the 20th and 21st centuries;
. 19th-century forms and current Formenlehre;
. The idea of Scotland in 19th-century music.

The keynote lecture will be delivered by Jann Pasler (UC San Diego). The
conference will also include a plenary session on ‘Nineteenth-Century
British Music and the Musicological Mainstream’ with a panel keynote by
Nicholas Temperley (University of Illinois).

Proposals are invited for the following:
– Individual Papers (20-minutes long, with 10 minutes for discussion);
– Themed Sessions (three or four papers, each 20-minutes long with 10
minutes for discussion);
– Roundtable Sessions (up to six people each giving a brief position paper,
followed by a general discussion);
– Performances and Lecture Recitals.

Proposals should be prepared as follows:
– Individual papers: maximum 250 words;
– Themed Sessions: 250-word summary outlining the aims of the session, and a
brief description of each paper;
– Roundtable Sessions:  250-word summary outlining the aims of the session,
and a brief description of each paper;
– Lecture Recitals/ Performances: 250-word summary (plus supporting
materials – e.g. CV/recording/programme details).

Proposals should be sent by email as an MS Word or PDF attachment to Elaine
Kelly at

DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSIONS: 1 November 2011 at 5 p.m.

Programme Committee: Denise Gallo, Julian Horton, Elaine Kelly, Hilary
Poriss, and Derek B. Scott

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.