New Music in Britain

New Music in Britain

An International Conference hosted by the Department of Music and
Performing Arts
Canterbury Christ Church University, England

10-12 May 2012

A conference on ‘New Music in Britain’, in association with Sounds New,
the Institute of Musical Research (IMR), and supported by the Society of
Music Analysis (SMA), will be hosted by the Department of Music and
Performing Arts at Canterbury Christ Church University (CCCU), from
Thursday 10 to Saturday 12 May 2012. The conference will coincide with
and augment the long-established Sounds New Contemporary Music Festival,
which is closely affiliated with CCCU. The 2012 festival (4-13 May),
titled ‘Theme GB’, will focus on and celebrate the extraordinary work of
British composers and performers, particularly after 1950. The London
Sinfonietta, the Philharmonia Orchestra, the BBC Big Band, the
Grimethorpe Colliery Band, the Tenebrae choir, the Arditti Quartet and
the Julian Joseph Trio, are only a few of the many ensembles who will
feature in the festival. Sir John Tavener will be one of the many guest
composers who will be in residence during the period of the conference.

Building on the festival theme, the conference will provide an overview
of the latest scholarly work on contemporary music composition,
music-making and musicology in the British Isles. The conference keynote
speakers are: Professor Philip Rupprecht (Duke University, USA), and
Professor Jonathan Cross (Christ Church, University of Oxford, UK).

Proposals are invited on topics that address specific compositional
and/or analytical aspects of individual composers, repertoires, genres,
styles and performance practice, as well as topics on earlier
twentieth-century music that explore legacy issues. Papers that are more
historical, sociological, and/or cultural in nature are also welcome, as
are those dealing with the broader contexts within which contemporary
music of the British Isles has evolved. Possible themes might include,
but are not limited to:
* Compositional practices of contemporary British composers
* Composer networks based around particular styles of composition
(for example, but not exclusively, the Manchester School, modernism and
post-modernism, post-minimalism, New Complexity, polystylism)
* Forms and genres
* Contemporary British opera and music theatre
* British film music and multimedia
* Oramics to twenty-first century electroacoustic music
* Overlaps between art music and other music styles and traditions
* The institutions, frameworks, and cultural policies that impact
on British contemporary art music
* British music and broadcasting
* Cross-cultural influences on British music
* The global influence of contemporary British music and

Potential contributors are invited to submit abstracts for:
i) individual paper presentations (20 minutes, plus 10 minutes question
ii) lecture recitals (40 minutes to 1 hour maximum, including question
iii) panel sessions (90 minutes, with no more than three papers,
including question time)

Abstracts should address the conference theme and state the aims and
methodological approach of the proposed paper(s). Abstracts will be
published both electronically and in the conference programme, and
should be no longer than 500 words for individual papers and up to 1,000
words for panel sessions. They should include the following information:
i) Title of paper
ii) Author(s) name(s)
iii) Institutional affiliation (if any)
iv) Email address (panels: emails for all panel participants)
v) Abstract (for panels: description of the panel and brief abstracts of
individual papers)

The deadline for the submission of abstracts is Monday 19 December 2011.
Successful contributors will be notified via email by early January

Abstracts should be submitted via email (preferably as plain text – only
attachments in .rtf format will be accepted) to the conference
organiser, Dr Eva Mantzourani at:
Postal correspondence should be addressed to: Dr. Eva Mantzourani,
Department of Music, Canterbury Christ Church University, Canterbury,
CT1 1QU, United Kingdom. Further information will appear on the
conference website: [website under

Selection Committee
Professor Robert Saxton (University of Oxford)
Professor John Irving (Canterbury Christ Church University)
Professor Roderick Watkins (Canterbury Christ Church University)
Dr Amanda Bayley (University of Wolverhampton)
Dr Charles Wilson (Cardiff University)
Dr Eva Mantzourani (Canterbury Christ Church University)

SMA Student Travel Bursaries
A limited number of bursaries are available for student members of the
Society for Music Analysis (SMA) to assist with the cost of travel and
accommodation for the conference. Post-graduate research students have
to be members of the SMA at the time of application in order to be
eligible for the travel bursaries. If there are a high number of
applications preference may be given to students delivering papers.
Applications, which must include a short summary of the reasons for the
student’s attendance and state the sum requested, should be sent to the
Society’s Treasurer and Administrator ( – email size
limit = 5MB) and arrive no later than four weeks before the event (i.e.
by Thursday 12 April, 2012). Applicants will be notified of the outcome
within a few days of this deadline.