British Forum for Ethnomusicology / Royal Musical Association Research Students Conference 2016

‘Disciplines in Dialogue’: a multidisciplinary conference for students involved in all kinds of music research

6–8 January 2016

School of Music, Bangor University, Wales

Call for contributions

Deadline: 19 October 2015

The School of Music at Bangor University is pleased to host the first joint BFE/RMA Research Students’ Conference from 6 to 8 January 2016. The BFE/RMA Research Students’ Conference welcomes all postgraduates, studying in the UK or abroad, to present research in music, musicology, ethnomusicology, composition, performance, and related areas in a friendly and supportive atmosphere. The conference will also include a number of performances, workshops, displays, and research training and career development sessions. Invited speakers include Nanette Nielsen (University of Oslo), 2014 recipient of the RMA’s Jerome Roche Prize.

Founded in 1874, the RMA is dedicated to the study of any kind of music, from history, analysis, and ethnomusicology to studies of perception, reception, and practice‐based research. The BFE’s mission is to advance the study, practice, documentation, preservation, and dissemination of traditional music and dance, including folk, popular, classical, urban, and other genres, of all countries.

The Conference Call invites submissions in the following categories:

  1. Academic papers:
    1. 20-minute papers
    2. 10-minute papers
  2. Themed panel sessions
  3. Compositions:
    1. for Okeanos (shakuhachi, koto, cello, oboe)
    2. for ElectroacousticWales (digital fixed medium)
  4. Lecture-recitals or workshops
  5. Masterclass participation
  6. Posters and films

Full guidelines for submissions are available at the conference website:

Students are welcome to propose innovative forms of presentation to the conference committee, but should contact the Programme Committee (email well before the deadline date.

Applicants will be notified of the Programme Committee’s decisions by Monday 2 November 2015. The full conference programme will be published at shortly afterwards.

Further information (accommodation, travel, etc.) and registration will be available on the conference website in due course. For general conference enquiries, and for enquiries relating to the call for papers, please email

Programme Committee: Dr Chris Collins (Chair), Dr Jochen Eisentraut, Emma Hembry, Katherine Betteridge, Christina Homer, Lyndsey Hoh, Peter Atkinson, Dr Vanessa Hawes.