ENIM 2016 – 6th Conferences on Musical Research

ENIM 2016

Aveiro (Portugal), November 3rd to 5th 2016


SPIM (Sociedade Portuguesa de Investigação em Música) and Universidade de Aveiro (PORTUGAL)

Call for papers

The 6th Conference on Musical Research (ENIM 2016) will be held in Aveiro (Portugal), November 3rd to 5th, 2016. The call is now open for paper and poster submissions, as well as for thematic panels of 3 to 4 presenters. All relevant themes on musical research are welcome.

Submissions should be sent in Portuguese, English or Castilian for the following formats:

Spoken papers: 20 minutes.

Panels: 1 hour and a half, including final discussion. Proposals should include a general abstract and individual abstracts.

Proponents should send an abstract (250 words, and 3 to 5 keywords), a short bio (ca. 150 words), as well as information about equipment requirements. Panel proposals should indicate the general title and the name of the chair, besides the general abstract (ca. 300 words), and the individual abstracts and their titles. Each proponent can only submit one proposal (including individual submissions and panels). Proposal should be sent just in Word format to:


by 15th de May 2016, at the latest. The mail should include the following information: name, institution, postal address, and phone number. The abstract should not include any identification information, only the title. The abstracts will be blind-reviewed by members of the scientific commission, and evaluation results will be sent by June 15th, 2016. For further information, please contact: <enim2016@spimusica.pt>

Keynote speakers:

Salwa Castelo-Branco
Timothée Picard

Scientific Committee:

António Sousa Dias (IPCB, Escola Superior de Artes Aplicadas)
Bernadette Nelson (Centro de Estudos de Sociologia e Estética Musical)
Gabriel Rusinek (Universidad  Complutense de Madrid)
Graça Mota (Instituto de Etnomusicologia – Centro de Estudos em Música e Dança)
Maura Penna (Universidade Federal da Paraíba)
Pablo Rodriguez (Universidad de La Rioja)
Paulo Assis (Orpheus Institute, Ghent)
Paulo Ferreira de Castro (Universidade Nova de Lisboa)
Ricardo Tacuchian (compositor)
Susana Sardo (Universidade de Aveiro)
Suzel Riley (Queen’s University, Belfast)

Organizing Committee:

Cristina Fernandes
Maria José Artiaga
Maria do Rosário Pestana