New Beethoven Research Conference

8-9 November 2017

The Seventh International New Beethoven Research Conference (NBR 7) will take place Wednesday, November 8 and Thursday morning, November 9, at the Ciminelli Lounge of the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY, prior to the meeting of the American Musicological Society.  We are seeking proposals concerning any new work on Beethoven. Presenters who did not give papers last year at NBR 6 will be given preference.  Talks accepted for the AMS/SMT conference itself may not also be read at this year’s NBR.

Deadline for submissions: June 1, 2017
Scholars, including musicologists, theorists, and performers, are invited to submit proposals (one per author) for individual papers, lecture/demonstrations, or lecture/performances.  Papers and presentations should not exceed 30 minutes.  Additionally, ten minutes will be allotted for discussion.1)  Paper proposals:  submit abstract (350-400 words) and institutional affiliation or status as independent scholar.  Proposals should articulate the most important aspects of the research, discuss the relationship of the new work to previous scholarship, and describe the significance and potential future usefulness of the findings.

2)  Lecture/demonstrations:  submit abstract (limit 400 words), institutional affiliation / status as independent scholar/performer(s), recording of proposed demonstration, and technical requirements.

3)  Lecture/performances:  submit abstract (limit 400 words), title, institutional affiliation / status as independent scholar, length, and program notes.

For all proposals, please indicate keyboard and technical requirements.

Submit abstracts as an attachment in Word or PDF to David Levy:  levy -at-

This conference is sponsored by the University of Alabama, the American Beethoven Society, Wake Forest University, the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, and the Beethoven-Haus, Bonn, Germany.  Organizers: Joanna Biermann (UA), David Levy (WFU), William Kinderman (UI), William Meredith (American Beethoven Society and San José State University), and Julia Ronge (Beethoven-Haus Bonn).