Eleventh Biennial International Conference on Music Since 1900

University of Huddersfield, UK

8-10 September 2019

Keynote speaker: Prof Jann Pasler (University of California, San Diego)


We invite submissions of paper proposals for the Eleventh Biennial International Conference on Music Since 1900, to be held at the University of Huddersfield in northern England. 

Envisaging a conference programme that offers the broadest global coverage and diversity of perspectives relating to music of the past twelve decades, we welcome proposals on subjects including:
•             Popular traditions
•             Global musics
•             Concert-hall repertoire
•             Experimental and avant-garde musical practice
•             Music on stage and screen
•             Performance and reception studies
•             Music and technology
and arising from any methodology or theoretical approach, including interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary perspectives. A programme of performance and new compositions will be curated by the University’s Centre for Research in New Music (CeReNeM), with an announcement to be posted separately.

The Huddersfield event marks the inception of a new steering committee for the Music Since 1900 Conference series, intended to oversee its future direction and development. The current Steering Committee members are: Robert Adlington (University of Huddersfield); Christopher Dingle (Royal Birmingham Conservatoire); Laura Hamer (Open University); Steen Kaargaard Nielsen (Aarhus University); Nick Reyland (Royal Northern College of Music); Eva Moreda Rodriguez (University of Glasgow); Edward Venn (University of Leeds). 

Proposals are accepted for the following presentation formats, deadline 8 February 2019:

1.            Individual papers (30-minute papers plus 10-minute questions)
Please send an abstract of 250-300 words, including paper title, name of author and email contact address, to MS1900@hud.ac.uk

2.            Panels (2×30-minute papers or 3×20-minute papers, plus 30-minute questions)
Please send a panel description of 100-150 words plus abstracts of 250-300 words for each paper, including panel title and paper titles, names of authors of each paper, and name and email contact address of panel convenor, to MS1900@hud.ac.uk

3.            Performance-based presentations (1 hour or 90 minutes)
These should take the form of a research presentation with a significant live performance component, and may be presented by one or more people. Please send a session proposal of 300-400 words, including session title, name of participant(s), and name and email contact address of session convenor, to MS1900@hud.ac.uk

Programme Committee:

Robert Adlington (University of Huddersfield)
Rachel Cowgill (University of Huddersfield) – conference director
Jan Herbst (University of Huddersfield)
Catherine Laws (University of York)
Chris Mark (University of Surrey)
Shzr Ee Tan (Royal Holloway, University of London)