International Conducting Studies Conference 2019

Presented by the University of Sydney and Oxford Conducting Institute

2-4 August, Sydney Conservatorium of Music, University of Sydney



Registration open until 15 July

The practice of instrumental and vocal conducting encompasses vastly more than the physical manifestation of it suggests. Over the course of history it has been shaped and defined by individuals and organisations, and yet precisely pinning down what a conductor can, should and does do, continues to be elusive. Scholars and practitioners continue to explore the numerous facets of conducting through historical, philosophical, social and psychological lenses, and OCIICSC SCM2019 brings together these diverse perspectives to generate interdisciplinary dialogue and raise awareness around issues in the field of conducting today. Previous Keynote speakers have included: Sian Edwards, William Christie, Odaline de la Martinez, Stephen Darlington, Alice Farnham, Edward Higginbottom and Andrea Quinn. 

Following on from two successful conferences at the University of Oxford, OCIICSC SCM2019, in collaboration with The University of Sydney and the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, aims to broaden the geographical compass of the conference discussions. The conference will be held at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, University of Sydney from the 2nd-4th August 2019. Keynote speakers will include: David Robertson (Chief Conductor of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Neal Peres da Costa (Head of Historical Performance at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music), and Karen Grylls (Head of Conducting at the University of Auckland, New Zealand).

This year’s conference features a breadth of approaches to instrumental and choral conducting research. Papers include interdisciplinary perspectives on gesture and conducting pedagogy, technology in research and practice, historical perspectives and research on the profession both in the rehearsal classroom and on the professional stage.

Organizing committee: John Traill (University of Oxford), Cayenna Ponchione-Bailey (University of Oxford), Neil McEwan (University of Sydney), Aleta King (Avondale Conservatorium), Tzelaw Chan (Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music, National University of Singapore), and Stephen Mould (University of Sydney).