10th European Music Analysis Congress

10th European Music Analysis Congress (EUROMAC10) at Moscow P.I. Tchaikovsky Conservatory,

September 21-26, 2020.

Analysis, Theory, and History of Music: and/or/vs Relationship


The relation between the domains of music scholarship remains a complex one. The formulation of abstract theoretical principles often contrasts with the practical aspects of analytical procedures. And just as often, both are synthesized in a single approach. Preference is often given to either theory or analysis; and this relationship often varies from one national society to another. Moreover, in some countries the historical component remains an inseparable component of theory or analysis pedagogy and scholarship, while in other countries there is a tendency to separate historical musicology from music theory. This intricate map of the world of music scholarship will be a central theme for discussion at the European and global forum of EuroMAC 10.

We invite papers on on the following topics:

1) The epistemology of music theory in relation to that of music analysis and history

2) Music theory as a kind of universal knowledge vs. historically-informed theory

3) Theoretical and historical aspects of ethnomusicology from its origins to today

4) Aspects of theory and analysis that deal with the expressive content of music: music as a language, musical semiotics, and musical signification

5) The theories of new music, the object and the methods of its analysis

6) Technical approaches to theory and analysis vs. new musicology and critical theory

7) Theories and methods of analysis

8) Free topics.

Keynote communications:

  • Belgian society (SBAM), Dr. Nicolas Meeùs (Sorbonne University); subject: “Modality”;
  • British society (SMA): Dr. Julian Horton (Durham University); subject TBA;
  • Croatian society (HTGM): Prof. emer., Dr. Nikša Gligo (Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts); subject TBA;
  • Dutch-Flemish society (VvM): round table, moderator Dr. John Koslovsky (Conservatorium van Amsterdam); subject: “Beethoven 2020: Analytical and Performative Perspectives”;
  • French society (SFAM): round table, moderator Prof. Jean-Marc Chouvel (Sorbonne University); subject: “What analysis does to musical works”;
  • German and Austrian society: Prof. Dr. phil. Gesine Schröder (Hochschule für Musik und Theater “Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Leipzig);  subject TBA;
  • Italian society (GATM): Dr. Mario Baroni (Università di Bologna); subject: “Analysis of post-dodecaphonic languages. In memoriam Bruno Maderna”;
  • (PTAM): Dr. Marcin Trzęsiok (Katowice Academy of Music); subject TBA;
  •  Russian society (OTM): Dr. Alexander Sokolov (Moscow Conservatory); subject: Post-scriptum as a mode of expression of a composer”;
  • Plenary session “North-American Schenkeriana, Schoenbergiana, Stravinskiana, Riemanniana and Cageana”: speakers Dr. Poundie Burstein (Hunter College and CUNY), Dr. Severine Neff (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill), Dr. Pieter van den Toorn (University of California, Santa Barbara), Dr. Alexander Rehding (Harvard University) and Dr. David W. Bernstein (Mills College); moderators Dr. Michael Beckerman (New York University) and Dr. Ildar Khannanov (Peabody Institute, Johns Hopkins University).

The deadline for submissions of abstracts: extended to January 15, 2020

For submissions, please refer to the official web site of the EUROMAC10: euromac.mosconsv.ru

Open the page Call for Papers; follow the link to EasyChair; on the submission page you will find the three windows to fill out for 1) your 500-word abstract with 5-item bibliography and 5 keywords; 2) your 150-word biography; 3) request for the equipment. At the bottom of the submission page, you can upload an abstract for the session, if you wish to propose one.

For questions, email to: drkhannanov@gmail.com (Dr. Ildar Khannanov, liaison for EUROMAC and OTM) and/or otmroo@mail.ru   (Dr. Yelena Tokun, Secretary of the Russian Society for Theory of Music)

Dr. Ildar Khannanov,

Member of the Organizing Committee, OTM/EUROMAC

Member of the Permanent Scientific Committee, EUROMAC