Society for Musicology in Ireland: 18th Annual Plenary Conference

18th Annual Plenary Conference: 25-27 June 2020

Hosted by the School of Music, University College Dublin.

Keynote Speaker: Professor Julian Johnson, Royal Holloway, University of London

The Annual Plenary Conference of the Society for Musicology in Ireland (SMI) has, over
the past several years, become very well-known as an exceptionally welcoming and
friendly occasion of scholarly deliberation on music. In 2020, the conference will be
hosted by the School of Music, University College Dublin. In the spirit of previous
conferences, we warmly invite papers from scholars across the global musicological
community to share their work in what promises to be a lively gathering of specialists in
historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory and analysis, sonic arts,
performance research, popular music, the sociology of music, aesthetics, the philosophy
and politics of music and cultural history. We encourage proposals not only from
members of the SMI but from scholars everywhere who would like to present their work
in a positive and constructive forum.

Proposals for contributions are invited in four formats: (a) twenty-minute papers on any
aspect of musicological research (b) themed panels of three to four twenty-minute papers
(c) poster sessions comprising up to six short (ten-minute) presentations followed by a
general debate (d) thirty-minute lecture-recitals.
Themed panel sessions may include (but are not limited to) ‘musicology and difference’;
‘musicology and contemporary Europe’; ‘musicology and the digital humanities’;
‘musicology and globalisation’. Prospective organisers of panel and poster sessions are
encouraged to suggest topics entirely independent of these themes, which are nominated
here merely as a stimulus.

Please send proposals to by 31 January 2020.
Please include an abstract of no more than 250 words in a word-compatible format or (in
the case of panel or poster-session proposals), an outline of no more than 250 words of
the topic(s) to be addressed and a list of potential speakers. Where relevant, please
indicate an institutional affiliation.

Details are available here:

The programme committee for SMI 2020 includes Dr Laura Anderson (UCD), Dr Joe
Davies (Maynooth), Dr Wolfgang Marx (UCD), Dr Tomás McAuley (UCD), and
Professor Harry White (UCD).

The co-secretaries of the organizing committee are Anika Babel and Eoghan Corrigan, to
whom all enquiries should be addressed at the email given above.