2020 Institute for Russian Music Studies Annual Conference

July 2-5, Vipiteno, Italy

Utopia and Dystopia in Russian Music

Special sessions:

“Tchaikovsky and Friends” to commemorate 180th Tchaikovsky’s anniversary

“Russian Women Composers and Performers”

Two IRMS 2020 Prizes and monetary awards to be awarded: for the Best Junior Scholar Paper and the Best Student Paper

Further detail on Website: https://www.orfeomusicfestival.com/registration-conference-irms-2018  

The conference of the Institute for Russian Music Studies (IRMS) is hosted July 2-5, 2020 (July 1 arrival – July 6 departure) under the auspices of the Orfeo Music Festival and the Municipality of Vipiteno.

Scholars and students of Russian music from around the world are invited to submit paper proposals of new research in Russian music. The committee will select papers of special interest for conference presentations and panel sessions. Papers are planned as 20-minute presentations followed by 10-minute discussions. The official languages of the conference are English and Russian (with provided English translation).

March 1: 1) Deadline for 300-400-word abstract. Include title of proposed paper, the state of research field and the contribution of the paper to the field. 2) Your 100-word biography, digital head shot, name, institutional affiliation or independent scholar status and your contact information. Email to: InstituteRMS@gmail.com.

March 15: Paper acceptance notifications are sent out. 

March 20 – May 31Registration is open on the website. https://www.orfeomusicfestival.com/registration-conference-irms-2018

Fees: $190 for 4 days & includes lunch, Early Registration $150 by 3/30, Student Registration available.

Conference Board:
Ada Aynbinder (Tchaikovsky State Museum-Reserve, State Institute for Art Studies, Russia)
Philip Ross Bullock (University of Oxford, UK)
Olga Digonskaya (Shostakovich Archive, Russian National Museum of Music, Russia)
Emily Frey (Brandeis University, USA)
Marina Frolova-Walker (Cambridge University, UK)
Larisa Jackson (University of Houston – Downtown, USA; OMF, Italy)
Simon Morrison (Princeton University, USA)